Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 13th, 2008

We just got back from both Target & Walmart. Neither store had 8 ct crayons – and I need three boxes! They had 16 ct, 24 ct, 48 ct, etc, but no 8s. Is there a recall of some sort that I’m not aware of? Because the last time I checked, school starts in a week.

Not the best time for a crayon shortage..

Oh yeah – and they were out of dry erase markers too.

Please give me a shout out if you find some!

Read Full Post »

She Passed!

I just got a call from Lindsay.

She just found out she passed her Boards for the State of Texas.

She is now officially a Physical Therapist!

Way to go Linz – we are all proud of you!!

Love you 🙂

Read Full Post »

The curse of the left

I noticed the other day that Grady was grabbing things with his left hand.

Could it be?

Is one of my kids going to take after me & be a…lefty?

Did you know that only 13% of people in the world are left-handed? Yep, we’re a rare commodity. Now, being a lefty has a few perks. I can think of two instances in particular where us lefties rule:

  • We naturally tap into the creative side of our brains!
  • We’re very desirable in baseball – we’re difficult to pitch to – ha ha ha!

However, more often than not, being a lefty comes with it’s fair share of woes. Today, I’m just going over what the world is like through the hands of a lefty. So get your violins ready as I share with you, (da da da, dum) “the curse of the left.”

â—Š

In elementary school, we were taught how to “properly” hold our pens. My teacher was right-handed, as was the rest of the entire class. I asked her if she could show me with her left hand how to hold the pen. She made her way to my desk & I kid you not, she couldn’t do it! So, her reply – “Just hold the pen how you want to Kelly.” Okay, so I did & this is what it looked like:

It wasn’t until I was in high school that a friend finally asked me, “Why do you hold your pen that way you southpaw – it looks so funny!” (it was said in love 😉 ) So, I started holding my pen “correctly.”

To this day, my hand constantly smears my writing. Growing up, we had to use those despicable erasable pens. I would have blue ink all along the side of my hand – how pretty! Not only that – have you ever tried writing in a notebook with the spiral under your hand? Oh yeah, notetaking was loads of fun.

And speaking of smeared writing…let me just say that:

Math problems + chalkboard + “left-hand” = royal pain in the rear!

(the same applies for dry erase boards!)

Lindsay, I know you feel my pain here.

A couple of other lefty curses:

  • No one likes to sit by us at meal times – we’re constantly knocking elbows.
  • We’re always the gloveless ones at the church softball game. Funny how there never seems to be an extra left-handed glove.
  • Keeping with the sport theme – at least I have an excuse on why my golf game is so bad.
  • Scissors…blasted things!
  • Refrigerator door handle…on the left.
  • Stick-shift cars are definitely a no go for me.
  • Can openers…well, I’ve learned to adapt.

Gotta a few things left to talk about for tomorrow.

How about it lefties (are there any of you out there 🙂 )?

Anything else drive you crazy?

Read Full Post »