Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 4th, 2008

I just got back from church. Dennis, Jeff Kristoff & I had a conference call today with our PCI contact. We are finalizing the pieces before ordering everything we need to go mobile.

Here’s a glimpse of our table – we have all been working so hard & I never imagined all that was involved to get ready!

This is such an exciting time! Can you believe that next month we will begin ministering in our next facility? I can’t wait to get out there & continue to step up & out as we reach people for Christ.

In the New Testament section of today’s One Year Bible reading, we begin journeying through the book of 1 Corinthians. Here’s what jumped out at me today:

“I appeal to you, dear brothers and sisters, by the authority of our Lord Jesus Christ, to live in harmony with each other. Let there be no divisions in the church. Rather, be of one mind, united in thought and purpose.” 1 Corinthians 1:10

The closer we get to relocating, the harder satan is going to try to deter us. We need to stand strong together & continue to pray for each other & for the mission God has given us.

Read Full Post »

Deciding

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

and sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

and looked down one as far as I could

to where it bent in the undergrowth

Then took the other, as just as fair,

and having perhaps the better claim,

because it was grassy and wanted wear;

though as for that, the passing there

had worn them really about the same

And both that morning equally lay

in leaves no feet had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I –

I took the one less traveled by,

and that has made all the difference.

I’ve always had a bit of a love affair with this poem by Robert Frost. I find it motivational – it brings out the non-conformist in me. I won’t do things simply because “that’s what everyone does” or “that’s the way it’s always been done.” I’m just not wired that way.

However, in an article I recently read, Linda Sue Grimes says this:

About the poem, Frost asserted, ‘You have to be careful of that one; it’s a tricky poem – very tricky.’ And he is, of course, correct. The poem has been and continues to be used as an inspirational poem, one that to the undiscerning eye seems to be encouraging self-reliance, not following where others have led.

But a close reading of the poem proves otherwise. It does not moralize about choice, it simply says that choice is inevitable but you never know what your choice will mean until you have lived it.”

Adam & I are in the middle of a decision & we’re stuck.

We are deciding between two schools for Ava. She is currently registered for one, but we are second guessing the choice we’ve made. Now, we are contemplating sending her to a different school. The school year begins in about three weeks – gotta love those down to the wire decisions, right? I know, I know…it’s kindergarten. Why am I getting worked up over kindergarten?

I can’t explain this very well. All I know, is deep down, I feel like this decision is bigger than kindergarten. I told you before that I’ve been praying for the friends Ava & Garrett will make this year. So, we’re choosing the place where she will meet the friends & teachers who will continue to mold her as she grows. This will be where she will meet people who she will impact as well. Both of these factors are very important to us.

I don’t enjoy making decisions like these – in fact, this past week has been stressful. What used to be looming in the back of my mind is now hovering right above me. I think part of my struggle is that there is no clear-cut answer. One school isn’t right & one isn’t wrong; they each have their pros & cons & she will receive an excellent education at either one. I can look down both “roads” & try to guess the outcome of choosing each of them. But, I guess the bottom line is, neither guarantees to provide what we hope for, for our kids.

We make our decision today.

We still don’t know what we’re going to do – all I am hoping for right now is for peace.

Please keep us in your prayers.

Read Full Post »