Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 12th, 2008

Blackberry Farm

We had a great time at the farm today!

Check out our pics by clicking here.

Read Full Post »

You never know what’s lurking…part 2

Ava is still fascinated by cicadas.

While at the farm, she started gathering their shells. She has a mini-collection going on in her bedroom…

I told her she could keep two & she put them in one of the compartments of our stroller.

We continued on with our day & after the train ride she wanted to check on her shells to, as she put it, “make sure they were okay.”

So, I opened the compartment & showed her the three items.

Three?

Oh yeah, apparently, the “shell” she found wasn’t empty after all!

The cicada was in the process of pushing off it’s outer covering & we all watched until it was completely free.

Okay, I admit it – this was pretty cool. It was a bright green color & it couldn’t fly yet because it’s wings were still sticky. However, I wasn’t taking any chances. Believe me – I haven’t forgotten my last encounter! We managed to get the cicada to grab on to our map & then put it in a grove of trees.

Here are a couple of pics we took:

Read Full Post »

Just venting

I’ve dumped Mapquest.

It used to sit all nice & pretty in my toolbar.

But, it’s history.

Why?

Because Mapquest cost me nearly an extra 40 minutes today. It should have taken me only 35 minutes to get to the farm. However, I ended up driving well over an hour. I was on some wild goose chase looking for a street that didn’t exist. Good thing gas isn’t expensive. Oh, wait…it is.

So, I now have a new “google maps” widget on my laptop.

And while I’m at it…

Whoever named the streets in that area needs to have their head examined.

I was supposed to turn on a street named Galena.

So, I did.

Silly me – I wasn’t supposed to turn on the first Galena, I was supposed to drive another 4 miles & then turn on another street named Galena.

Oh, come on! What, they couldn’t think of another “G” name for a street? Well, here’s two – Garrett & Grady. Seriously, this kind of idiocy drives me nuts!

And for the record, Galena wasn’t a big circle road. It’s two completely different streets.

Adam, I’m going to just put this out there…

I hear that the i-phone comes equipped with a GPS.

I’m just saying…

Read Full Post »