Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 27th, 2008

That’s my boy

Garrett loves his Thomas the Train robe. He got it for his birthday a year ago. He calls it his jacket & he wears it to bed all the time.

Of my kids, Garrett is the one who makes me really laugh. He says the funniest things & he’s such a free-spirited little boy. Have you ever watched him run? Garrett doesn’t really run – he gallops!

Yesterday, I was putting him on the bus for school. As I was buckling him in, he said, “Mommy, I need a hug & a kiss.” Now, when Garrett hugs, he likes to press his cheek to your cheek. Then he’ll say, “This way..”, and he’ll press his other cheek to your other cheek. I had just finished “hugging” him & planting a kiss on his forehead. Before I uttered a word, he raised his fist, pointed to the door of the bus and said, “Now, go!” Even the bus driver busted out laughing!

That’s Garrett…in one moment he’s very sweet & tender, and in the next, he’s all impish & mischievous.

I was incredibly restless last night & didn’t sleep too well. I think I actually made an audible groan when Adam’s alarm went off this morning! The last thing I felt like doing was getting out of bed.

But alas, arise I must…

So, I made my way downstairs. Garrett came down a few minutes later. You know Garrett’s up when you hear the CRASH. That’s because he throws Buzz Lightyear, Pooh Bear & his cup down the stairs first. He walked in as I was preparing my breakfast (which means I put a PopTart in the toaster & pressed a button). I had on my pink polka-dot robe, glasses, no makeup & my hair was completely disheveled. I was leaning against the counter, eyes half-closed, just as the toaster popped. I mentally ran through my “To Do” list, when all of a sudden, Garrett wandered over to me, put his arms around my leg, looked up and said,

“Mommy looks like a princess.”

I looked down at him as tears filled my eyes. I felt like crap when I woke up & he instantly brightened my day.

I picked him up & hugged him tight. After a moment, he pulled away & looked at me with his bangs hanging in his eyes. I placed my forehead right against his, looked at him & said, “Garrett, you make Mommy so very happy.”

He smiled at me…

He moved in closer…

and then he took my PopTart.

“Between the innocence of babyhood and the dignity of manhood, we find a delightful creature of a boy.”
— Author Unknown

Read Full Post »